I Run Around

Running is the most natural form of exercise

Sticks and Stones May Break My Bones, But Your Choice Of Words Hurt Even Worse: how to ask about a child’s condition without using demeaning words and phrases.

on November 9, 2013

Serenity and My Urban Autistic Perspective

I remember last Summer, a family friend asked me this question, as he watched Serenity as she went into one of her random moments while we were all outside. The question was “why she always acting like that? Oh, I heard she is retarded or something. Is she retarded?”. Oh boy was my tea pot on boil level when he asked me that! I was so upset and hurt and pissed off all at the same time! I wanted to cuss him out from the left side to the right! But, I took a deep breath in, sat him down, and explained to him what Serenity’s Autistic disability entailed, and why she had those moments. I also explained that she was not ‘retarded’ as he so eloquently put it.

This guy was well into his 20s. I think I was pissed off more due to the fact that he was…

View original post 262 more words

Leave a Reply

Middle School Science Blog

Free lesson plans and resources for grades 5-8 by Liz LaRosa

la jolie coureuse

life as an athlete in New Orleans

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

The Fat Girls Guide To Running

The worlds No1 site for advice, support and resources for overweight runners

